Hello Friends

I surrender. I give in. Kicking and screaming all the way I’ve decided to make the leap and join the blogsphere. Even though colleagues and publicists suggested years ago that I hop on the bandwagon, I fought the urge like a rebellious teenager saying that I’d rather spend my time writing books. Perhaps I was afraid of becoming obsessed by the task and furthermore, as a journaling advocate, I wondered about hanging my dirty underwear on the clothes line for everyone to read. Well, I suppose I will find a balance in my words. What do you think about blogs? Are they just public notebooks? Are they a fad like the latest diet? Are blogs here to stay?


Bookmark and Share

6 Responses to “Hello Friends”


  1. 1 poelibrary August 13, 2008 at 1:23 pm

    Wow What a great surprise. I so enjoyed reading your blog!
    This is just a hello.
    Connie Darling

  2. 2 vrf1 August 14, 2008 at 7:48 am

    Since you moved to California, central Florida has missed you and so have I. Looking forward to having you back again via the internet blog! Blast e-mails are not the same as personal chats from you.

    Vicki Riley-Fischer

  3. 3 Dawn (SheIsTooFondOfBooks) August 25, 2008 at 8:58 am

    Thanks for stopping by my blog – yes, I’m so looking forward to reading your book; as you read, I’m the family historian/genealogist and I know that primary sources, like you had access to, are invaluable! I’ll let you know when the review is posted (it will be toward the end of the month; my four kids head back to school after Labor Day and I hope my schedule becomes more flexible!)

    To address your question (with my opinion)… I think blogs (or some advanced form as this evolves) are here to stay. I’ve only jumped on the bandwagon back in April/May of this year. I’m 43, happily married with four kids (see above; yes, I’m looking forward to the new school year!), and haven’t worked “outside the home” in 12 years. I love reading and have been active in several book discussion groups over the past 8 years. I decided to start a blog so that I could get the benefit of the exercise of analyzing and synthesizing the books I read in order to write thoughtful reviews. Granted, some reviews are more conversational than analytical, and my blog has evolved to also contain “author interviews, giveaways, bookish musings, and news from the publishing world” (as my abstract cites). Hopefully this writing, such as it is, will keep me “sharp” for when I return to work “outside the home”.

    I’m enjoying it!

  4. 4 dmclaney August 25, 2008 at 4:02 pm

    Welcome to the blogosphere, and thank you so much for the comment you left on my own dismal attempt at using WordPress. If I had my own domain, perhaps, but for now I’m much happier over at LiveJournal.

    Anyway, I’m thoroughly enjoying reading your blog and have added it to Bloglines, so I can keep up with you. Also, thanks for the book recommendation. I’ll be checking that out as well.

  5. 5 alleyart September 4, 2008 at 2:20 pm

    Diana – So glad you have jumped into the world of blogging. From reading several of your posts, you are truly an advocate and inspiration for keeping a journal! Dayna

  6. 6 lkleppin September 15, 2008 at 8:54 pm

    Oh, yes! Blogs are here to stay and we might as well get used to them! Now I am trying to adapt to the social media scene of Digg and Twitter and StumbleUpon and don’t forget audio files and heaven forfend, video?! It’s too, too much for this old soul! G.


Leave a Reply

Quote of the Week


"A writer uses a journal to try out the new step in front of the mirror."

~Mary Gordon

About Me


I am a memoirist, essayist, poet and teacher whose passion is keeping a notebook. My notebook is my muse and my alter ego. It contains personal snippets of my life and observations from the world around me. Diarist Anaïs Nin has been a great source of inspiration for me. My hobbies include writing, writing and more writing, but when I have extra time, I enjoy reading, walking, hiking, yoga, working out, cooking and hanging out with my family and Maltese Poodle, Spunky. In order not to become ensconced by the glare of my computer screen, I also teach in the UCLA Extension Writers' Program and in various conferences and festivals around the country. My pleasure comes from sharing my joy of journaling with professional writers and anyone interested in writing.

Twitter Feed

Blog Listings


