My Journaling History

At the age of ten, my mother gave me my first journal with a lock and key to help me cope with the death of my beloved grandmother. I poured my heart and tears onto its pages. As a teen, I had a maroon Khalil Gibran journal with sayings on top of each page. This journal helped me navigate through severe adolescent angst. I remember how I loved to write in green ink.

When I was summoned to bed rest with my first born I chronicled my way through the pregnancy. My journal eventually evolved into a book to help other women cope with high-risk pregnancies. That book, Getting Pregnant and Staying Pregnant: Overcoming Infertility and High-Risk Pregnancy is still in print and I am now updating it for it’s 20th anniversary edition to be released in 2009.

Over the years journaling has become both a habit and addiction—like some people get up in the morning and stretch, I journal. There’s not doubt that it’s been a cathartic exercise that helped me during the tumultuous stages in my life.

What is your journaling history?


Bookmark and Share

3 Responses to “My Journaling History”


  1. 1 cherylklein August 14, 2008 at 8:46 am

    As an angsty teenager, I loved starting new journals, because they made me feel like I was starting a fabulous new life (the old journals were full of hurt feelings and unaccomplished goals). So now I have a shelf full of journals with three or four pages of writing in them. 🙂

    Great blog, Diana. I’m looking forward to reading more.

    ~Cheryl

  2. 2 Pamela Walsh August 25, 2008 at 7:05 pm

    AND, (oddly enough) I have that same dang Khalil Gibran journal … mine was more red, but I bet it’s the EXACT one. I still have it along with a box of other journals, key & lock diaries and spiral notebooks. We are cut from the same cloth. BTW … Happy Anniversary … we just had our 21st earlier this summer.

    Pamela

  3. 3 emilystoddard September 5, 2008 at 6:44 am

    Hi Diana–found your blog via a posting at a blog called Those Corwins. Glad I did!

    I began journaling in sixth grade and have continued ever since, although not as frequently as I’ve gotten older. It’s something I’ve been struggling to recommit myself to, as I view it as a critical part of my writing process. Reading all the journals I wrote when I was younger makes me a bit ashamed–I seemed to take the craft much more seriously when I was a teenager than I do now!

    Looking forward to your future posts!

    Emily
    http://www.itsmybbq.com


Leave a Reply

Quote of the Week


"A writer uses a journal to try out the new step in front of the mirror."

~Mary Gordon

About Me


I am a memoirist, essayist, poet and teacher whose passion is keeping a notebook. My notebook is my muse and my alter ego. It contains personal snippets of my life and observations from the world around me. Diarist Anaïs Nin has been a great source of inspiration for me. My hobbies include writing, writing and more writing, but when I have extra time, I enjoy reading, walking, hiking, yoga, working out, cooking and hanging out with my family and Maltese Poodle, Spunky. In order not to become ensconced by the glare of my computer screen, I also teach in the UCLA Extension Writers' Program and in various conferences and festivals around the country. My pleasure comes from sharing my joy of journaling with professional writers and anyone interested in writing.

Twitter Feed

Blog Listings


