Addicted to Musing

Today is my 31st wedding anniversary and I have a confession. I am addicted to musing, not only verbally with my husband over coffee, but in my notebook. Truly, there could be worse addictions. Today I am writing about the passage of time and how I got to be 54 years old with three grown children. The big joke in our family is that we were married on the 18th and had all three of our kids’ on the 19th. Yes. My husband is an engineer and this is precision. Both our daughters were born on August 19th two years apart and our son on May 19th. What does this all mean? I suppose numerologists would have a heyday, but I’ll let it go.

What are you musing about today?


Bookmark and Share

3 Responses to “Addicted to Musing”


  1. 1 Literate Housewife August 18, 2008 at 2:52 pm

    Diane, I can relate on the birthdays. My oldest daughter, whom we adopted as an infant, was born 10/23/02. I never thought I could get pregnant, but wouldn’t you know I did and had a due date of 10/14/04. I was induced on 10/22 and had I not required an emergency c-section, she would have been born on 10/23/04. As it was, she was born at 11:36pm. 😉

    Today I’m musing about my oldest starting kindergarten a week from today. It just seems like yesterday that she was born. It’s been on my heart all day. I know that this is a wonderful thing and I’m so darn proud of her. I just don’t want to let her go – and she’s really not even going anywhere.

  2. 2 stuarx August 23, 2008 at 6:31 pm

    Diana, What I am musing about is what a great day August 19th is, it was Carol’s and my twenty-fourth anniversary. Tropical Storm Fay put a “damper” on celebrating plans, however the two of us mused all day wondering where the time has gone, and how we never would have met if I had not been asked to take someone’s photograph one day, a proprietor of a corner community pharmacy in the upscale Boston suburb Newton, MA. Her father, a pharmacist himself came to work there in December of 1976, Carol and I met a month later and never left one anothers’ side.
    I sit here musing, and patiently awaiting your next blog. Stuey

  3. 3 Pamela Walsh August 25, 2008 at 7:01 pm

    Hi Diane,

    I had to come visit your blog after your comment on mine ~ http://potentialwithin.wordpress.com So glad to see this & I plan to check back regularly. We have many similar interests (and 3 kids to boot). I am planning to post regular entries for ideas on journaling and reflective writing so I’d love your input. I haven’t found many sites that deal with this topic, perhaps I’m not googling the right words, but I’d like to see more out there.

    Let’s keep in touch,
    Pamela in Austin


Leave a Reply

Quote of the Week


"A writer uses a journal to try out the new step in front of the mirror."

~Mary Gordon

About Me


I am a memoirist, essayist, poet and teacher whose passion is keeping a notebook. My notebook is my muse and my alter ego. It contains personal snippets of my life and observations from the world around me. Diarist Anaïs Nin has been a great source of inspiration for me. My hobbies include writing, writing and more writing, but when I have extra time, I enjoy reading, walking, hiking, yoga, working out, cooking and hanging out with my family and Maltese Poodle, Spunky. In order not to become ensconced by the glare of my computer screen, I also teach in the UCLA Extension Writers' Program and in various conferences and festivals around the country. My pleasure comes from sharing my joy of journaling with professional writers and anyone interested in writing.

Blog Listings


