Juicy Inspiration

Some people ask where I find my inspiration. My answer is always the same:

“just look around you; the world is full of inspiration.”

One of my favorite pastimes is people-watching, probably learned from my grandfather during our annual trips to Paris. For hours, we’d linger in outdoor cafés as I sipped espresso and jotted observations in my notebook. Parisian cafés are the center of social and culinary life, as well as being prime meeting places. This many years later, I still practice the ritual. For example, yesterday afternoon I sat in a café in Newport Beach and watched the passer-byes and imagined what they did when not strolling on the beach slugging beers or building sand castles. It’s a fun exercise to do in your notebook or verbally with a loved one.


Bookmark and Share

3 Responses to “Juicy Inspiration”


  1. 1 Stacey September 1, 2008 at 12:12 pm

    People-watching is such a great way to gather characters for stories. Yea!

  2. 2 cherylklein September 2, 2008 at 1:26 pm

    I agree. But I think the espresso is key too. 🙂

  3. 3 lkleppin September 21, 2008 at 8:51 pm

    I think my very best people watching (other than airports and Greyhound Bus Stations) has to be a fast food multiplex that had Wendi’s, Taco Bell AND Long John Silver. Believe it or not, each one has a very different and unique clientele. I went back for extra ice tea three times because I wanted to hear the end of the stories! People can be a lot of fun. Thanks for the reminder. Grace at http://www.facetothesun.com


Leave a Reply

Quote of the Week


"A writer uses a journal to try out the new step in front of the mirror."

~Mary Gordon

About Me


I am a memoirist, essayist, poet and teacher whose passion is keeping a notebook. My notebook is my muse and my alter ego. It contains personal snippets of my life and observations from the world around me. Diarist Anaïs Nin has been a great source of inspiration for me. My hobbies include writing, writing and more writing, but when I have extra time, I enjoy reading, walking, hiking, yoga, working out, cooking and hanging out with my family and Maltese Poodle, Spunky. In order not to become ensconced by the glare of my computer screen, I also teach in the UCLA Extension Writers' Program and in various conferences and festivals around the country. My pleasure comes from sharing my joy of journaling with professional writers and anyone interested in writing.

Blog Listings


