Journaling The Dalai Lama

A few days ago I had the honor of listening to His Holiness, The Dalai Lama speak live at UCSB in two very compelling lectures. The morning lecture was entitled, “The Nature of the Mind,” and the afternoon lecture was “Ethics for Our Time.” My first thought was that with all his power and presence, surely his mind would rule over his body, but he is not immune to the germs which float amongst us. In spite of him having a very bad flu and cold, he was able to capture our attention for each two hour-session. Tickets were sold out in ten minutes (10,000 seats) so I was honored to even be there. Security was very tight, no cameras or recording devices, but journals are always allowed, and I could not write fast enough for the amount of wisdom he bestowed on his listeners. As a matter of fact, a few times, I thought I was the only one in this large stadium. I don’t know how he created that energy, but even during moments when it was difficult to understand his English, it did not matter, being in his presence was enough. I had prepared myself for his talk by reading all his books and left feeling even more elated by his energy. Even though he has been exiled from his home country of China and living in India, he continues to be positive about the future. I strolled away (feeling much calmer than when I walked in), still mulling over his tidbits of wisdom. Here are only a handful of snippets recorded in my journal:

– Live in the present

– Have compassion

– We can do without religion, but not spirituality

– To achieve a joyful and happy life, we must take care of our mind

– Everything depends on our motivation

– Many of the problems we are facing are man-made problems

– Thinking only of oneself is selfish

– Happiness is a matter of a mental state; sadness is a mental state

– My own inner value of compassion brings inner comfort and peace

– Everyone appreciates human love and kindness, regardless of their religion

– A peaceful mind is important for preventative reasons – Our world is in crisis which tells us there is a limitation
Namaste to you all!

1 Response to “Journaling The Dalai Lama”


  1. 1 Shailee April 28, 2009 at 6:47 pm

    Beautiful pearls of wisdom. We often get so caught up in the rat race that we forget the treasure trove of happiness is all around us we just have to see it for what it is.

    Thank you for posting this.

    Regards,
    Shailee


Leave a Reply

Quote of the Week


"A writer uses a journal to try out the new step in front of the mirror."

~Mary Gordon

About Me


I am a memoirist, essayist, poet and teacher whose passion is keeping a notebook. My notebook is my muse and my alter ego. It contains personal snippets of my life and observations from the world around me. Diarist Anaïs Nin has been a great source of inspiration for me. My hobbies include writing, writing and more writing, but when I have extra time, I enjoy reading, walking, hiking, yoga, working out, cooking and hanging out with my family and Maltese Poodle, Spunky. In order not to become ensconced by the glare of my computer screen, I also teach in the UCLA Extension Writers' Program and in various conferences and festivals around the country. My pleasure comes from sharing my joy of journaling with professional writers and anyone interested in writing.

Twitter Feed

Blog Listings


