Honoring Fathers

Honoring Fathers

Yesterday, in honor of Father’s Day, I spent many moments meditating on wisdoms of fathers around the world, but in particular, my own father, who passed away in late 1991. During the years following his death, and on each third Sunday of June, when kids around the world celebrated fathers, I would cry relentlessly from morning to night. Now., many years later, I have accepted the loss and the fact that my father will never come back. Instead of mourning his death, I have decided to pay tribute to my wonderful father’s spirit by propagating all the wisdoms he shared during the thirty-seven years we shared. My father, who had survived the Holocaust. was a forgiving man who taught me not to hold grudges against people and that if I didn’t have something nice to say I shouldn’t say anything at all. He was gracious and demonstrated the fine art of giving and receiving love. He also showed me the intrinsic value of compassion, working hard and being happy.

My father, Edward Marquise, was a man who continuously counted his blessings and was appreciative for each day he spent on this earth. In spite of losing both his parents and baby brother, Josh in WWII, just days before his fifteen birthday, he made it his life’s mission to bring happiness and joy to anyone who crossed his path—whether family, friend or stranger. His greatest pleasure rested in bringing a smile to someone’s face. He loved telling jokes and although he was never a rich man, he had enough for a comfortable life and housed a rich spirit and zest for life.

Only when illness took over him and his vitality dwindled, did he decide that enough was enough.. In the end, my father’s smoking habit took away his life and although at times I am upset that he never tossed out the cigarettes, which eventually killed him, I try to focus on all the powerful wisdoms he shared with me during his lifetime.

0 Responses to “Honoring Fathers”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Quote of the Week


"A writer uses a journal to try out the new step in front of the mirror."

~Mary Gordon

About Me


I am a memoirist, essayist, poet and teacher whose passion is keeping a notebook. My notebook is my muse and my alter ego. It contains personal snippets of my life and observations from the world around me. Diarist Anaïs Nin has been a great source of inspiration for me. My hobbies include writing, writing and more writing, but when I have extra time, I enjoy reading, walking, hiking, yoga, working out, cooking and hanging out with my family and Maltese Poodle, Spunky. In order not to become ensconced by the glare of my computer screen, I also teach in the UCLA Extension Writers' Program and in various conferences and festivals around the country. My pleasure comes from sharing my joy of journaling with professional writers and anyone interested in writing.

Blog Listings


